Schedule

CS 326 Operating Systems

Spring 2016

Lecture: LS G12 TR 2:40pm-4:25pm
Lab: LS 307 W 11:45am-2:05pm


Office hours

Greg Benson: Tue/Thu 12:50pm-1:40pm, Wed 2:30pm-3:20pm

TA Office Hours in Harney 535:

Carlos Cortez-Aguilera: Mon/Fri 2:00pm-3:00pm. Also as a super tutor: Mon/Fri 3:00pm-6:00pm and Wed 4:00pm-6:00pm.

Week 16

Wed May 12
  • Final Review
Wed May 11
  • Lab: How reading/writing files work in xv6: ide driver, buffer cache, op log, inodes, system calls.
Tue May 10
  • Finish Project 4
Week 15

Thu May 5
  • File Systems
  • Reading xv6 Chapter 7 File system
Wed May 4
  • Interactive Grading on Project 4
Tue May 3
  • Help on project 4
Week 14

Thu Apr 28
  • Locks and condition variables
Wed Apr 27
  • Implemented shared memory with virtual memory
Tue Apr 26
  • Shared memory regions in xv6

Week 13

Thu Apr 21
  • No class
Wed Apr 20
  • Lab Project 4
Tue Apr 19
  • QUIZ: OSPP Chapter 5, xv6 Book Chapter 4
Week 12

Thu Apr 14
  • Synchronization
Wed Apr 13
  • Lab: Project 4 - User-level Pipes will Virtual Memory
Tue Apr 12
  • QUIZ: OSPP Chapter 4
Week 11

Thu Apr 7
  • Virtual Memory in xv6
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 4
Wed Apr 6
  • Lab: Address translation and Virtual Memory in xv6
Tue Apr 5
  • Quiz: OSPP Chapter 8, xv6 book Chapter 2

Week 10

Thu Mar 31
  • Midterm
    • Sample midterm from Fall 2015  (PDF)
    • xv6 source code cross reference (PDF)
Wed Mar 30
  • Lab: Project 3 Interactive grading
Tue Mar 29
  • Virtual Memory Continued

Week 9

Thu Mar 24
  • Virtual Memory in xv6
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 8, xv6 Book Chapter 2
Wed Mar 23
  • Project 3 help
  • Virtual memory
  • xv6 boot sequence continued
Tue Mar 22
  • pipe_count() system call
  • The xv6 boot sequence

Week 8

SPRING BREAK


Week 7

Thu Mar 10
  • Quiz: xv6 Book Chapters 0 and 1
  • Processes in xv6
  • Introduction to virtual memory
Wed Mar 9
  • Lab: xv6 code walk through
  • Project 3
Tue Mar 8
  • Cross-build environment setup on RPi2 / Linux / Mac OS X
  • Compile and run xv6
  • Debug xv6
  • Add user program to xv6
  • System calls in xv6

Week 6

Thu Mar 3 2016
  • QUIZ: OSPP Chapter 2 (2.5-2.8), xv6 Book Chapter 1
  • Reading: xv6 Book Chapter 1
Wed Mar 2 2016
  • Lab: Project 2 Interactive Grading (11:30am to 1:30pm)
Tue Mar 1 2016
  • xv6 source code
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 2 (2.7-2.8)
Week 5

Thu Feb 25 2016
Wed Feb 24 2016
  • Lab: Project 2 help
Tue Feb 23 2016
  • UNIX Pipes
  • UNIX Directory system calls

Week 4

Thu Feb 18 2016
  • UNIX I/O redirection
Wed Feb 17 2016
  • Lab: UNIX fork()/exec()
Tue Feb 16 2016
  • UNIX file descriptors
  • UNIX process creation: fork()/exec()

Week 3

Thu Feb 11 2016
  • QUIZ: OSPP Chapter 3
  • UNIX Systems Programming
  • UNIX fork() and exec()
Wed Feb 10 2016
  • Lab: Project 1 Interactive Grading
Tue Feb 9 2016
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 2 (2.1 - 2.4)

Week 2

Thu Feb 4 2016
  • RPi2 Setup
  • Working in Raspbian
  • Project 1
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 3 (skip Chapter 2 for now)
Wed Feb 3 2016
  • Lab: RPi2 Setup
  • Faculty candidate teaching demonstration

Tue Feb 2 2016
  • RPi2 setup

Week 1

Thu Jan 28 2016
  • Introduction to Operating Systems
  • More C Programming
Wed Jan 27 2016
  • Lab: C programming 
Tue Jan 26 2016
  • Introduction
  • Syllabus
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 1, Review K&R Chapter 1, Chapter 5, and Chapter 6
  • Project 1
Ċ
Greg Benson,
Mar 24, 2016, 2:51 PM