Schedule

CS 326 Operating Systems

Spring 2016

Lecture: LS G12 TR 2:40pm-4:25pm
Lab: LS 307 W 1:00pm-2:25pm


Raspberry Pi Setup Site: http://rpi.cs.usfca.edu

Office Hours

Instructor: Greg Benson: Harney 533, TR 1:10pm-2:00pm, W 11:10am-12:00pm
Teaching Assistants:
  Austin Bushree: Harney 535, M 2pm-4pm, W 5pm-6pm, F 2pm-4pm
  Cole Howard: Harney 535, TBD, M 4pm-6pm, T 1:30pm-2:30pm, W 4:00pm-5:00pm, F 12:00pm-2:00pm


Week15

Thu Dec 1
  • Quiz 9: OSPP 5.1-5.3 xv6 book Chapters 4 and 5
Wed Nov 30
  • Work on Project04
Tue Nov 29
  • Work on Project04
  • Reading OSPP Chapter 13, xv6 book Chapter 6

Week14

Thu Nov 24
  • Thanksgiving - No class
Wed Nov 23
  • Lab: Project04 development
Tue Nov 22
  • Quiz 8: OSPP 4.1-4.8
  • Reading: OSPP 5.1-5.3 xv6 book Chapters 4 and 5

Week13

Thu Nov 17
  • Threads and Synchronization
  • Reading: OSPP 4.1-4.8
Wed Nov 16
  • Lab: Understanding xv6 fork() and exec()
Tue Nov 15
  • Quiz 7: OSPP 8.3, xv6 Chapter 2
  • Paged virtual memory

Week12

Thu Nov 10
  • Quiz 7: OSPP 8.3, xv6 Chapter 2
  • xv6 virtual memory
Wed Nov 9
  • Lab: Project03 Interactive Grading
Tue Nov 8
  • xv6 virtual memory

Week11

Thu Nov 3
  • Quiz 6: OSPP 8.1-8.2, xv6 Chapter 1
  • Reading: OSPP 8.3, xv6 Chapter 2 
Wed Nov 2
  • No lab this week
Tue Nov 1
  • xv6 pipe implementation, processes, synchronization

Week10

Thu Oct 27
  • Quiz 5: OSPP 2.4-2.7, xv6 Chapter 0
  • Reading: OSPP 8.1-8.2, xv6 Chapter 1 and Chapter 2
Wed Oct 26
  • Lab: More work on xv6
Tue Oct 25
  • Midterms back
  • Modifying xv6

Week09

Thu Oct 20
  • Cross-tools
  • Exploring xv6
Wed Oct 19
  • Lab: Building i386dev cross-tools
Tue Oct 18
  • Fall Break - No class
Week 08

Tue Oct 11
  • Midterm
    • Past midterm CS 326 2016S (PDF)
    • Past midterm CS 326 2015F (PDF)
Week 07

Thu Oct 6
  • Quiz 4: OSPP Chapter 2: 2.1-2.3
Wed Oct 5
  • Lab: Project02 Interactive Grading
Tue Oct 4
  • Project02 Due 11:59pm.
  • Kernel internals - the process model
  • Project02 help
Week 06

Thu Sep 29
  • Project02
    • read() command line and null termination
    • strtok()
    • pipes with two children
  • Intro to kernel internals
Wed Sep 28
  • Help with Project02
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 2: 2.1-2.3
Tue Sep 27
  • Pipes
  • Directories
Week 05

Thu Sep 22
  • Quiz 3: OSPP Chapter 3
  • System Calls
  • I/O Redirection
Wed Sep 21
  • Debugging with gdb
Tue Sep 20
  • System Calls
Week 04

Thu Sep 15
  • Project01 Recap - Buffered I/O
  • System Calls
Wed Sep 14
  • Project01 Interactive Grading
Tue Sep 13
  • Project01 Help
  • System Calls
Week 03

Thu Sep 8
  • C Programming finding min and max line lengths in a file
Wed Sep 7
  • Lab: C Programming, sumargs.c
Tue Sep 6
  • Quiz 2: OSPP Chapter 1
  • Reading OSPP Chapter 3
Week 02

Tue Sep 1
  • More C Programming
Wed Aug 31
  • Lab: RPi Setup
Tue Aug 30
  • Quiz 1: The C Programming Language
  • Reading: OSPP Chapter 1
Week 01

Thu Aug 25
Wed Aug 24
  • Class logistics
  • Raspberry Pi 3 Ordering
Tue Aug 23



Ċ
Greg Benson,
Oct 6, 2016, 2:52 PM
Ċ
Greg Benson,
Oct 6, 2016, 2:52 PM